Compaq f700 And Ubuntu

So I’ve finaly decided to stick it out with Ubuntu instead of Kubuntu, And for good reasons too. The shear beauty of KDE alone couldn’t hold me down to the buggy Kubuntu, When I upgraded to the latest kernal, .14 I think, X server decided that there were no screens present and wanted nothing to do with my Nvidia video card. After multiple installs I reverted back to my beloved Ubuntu 8.10.

After the installation was complete I recommend hooking into a hard line and doing the updates and upgrades, as this will allow for the third party drivers to be installed. Once complete and rebooted, under the System>Administration>Hardware Drivers, we can install the video drivers. while your in there, disable the support for atheros 802.11 wireless lan cards.  Concidering the fact that I am running Ubuntu on a Compac, which features the lovely Atheros Ar5007 wifi card, well want to open a terminal and run this command:

sudo apt-get install linux-backports-modules-intrepid

After you get that all installed do a quick reboot and back to Hardware Drivers and enable the new ‘Support for 5xxx series of Atheros wireless lan cards. you may have to reboot again but you’ll get your wifi! enjoy.

~ by jsavaglio on April 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
